Level Editor Prototype

This video shows the basics of our level editor.

Note: The music track for the video is missing.

In this video I tried to build the level in the order that I developed the editor. Features were added based on what I felt the game needed at the time to make me stop staying, “something’s missing”.

First, all I had were foreground walls and collision walls; the level looked empty, each platform felt like it was floating. I tried to fill them in with more wall images but it looked to cluttered.

Black rectangle walls were added to fill in the levels and make it look like each separate platform is part of a whole world.  Copies of each walls image were added with 50% brightness to use as background walls. Now the levels had enough depth for me have fun again.

Once I threw in enemies and items, the level editor started doing its job and my efforts could be placed elsewhere (eg: adding more guns) until that, “something’s missing” feeling comes back.

1 Response to “Level Editor Prototype”


  1. 1 JACOB September 16, 2011 at 5:40 PM

    HI ORUN ITS ME JACOB! UNCLE MATTS NEPHEW! It looks great! (the game) I just wanted to let you know 1.8 for minecraft is out, also they made a minecraft 1.81 so GOOD LUCK

    P.S. I Am going to put my skyscraper on youtube so keep a look out!


Leave a Reply

Follow the dev on Twitter.

About Me

Orun Irunmale
I'm Orun, an indie game developer. This is my development blog for all my software escapades.

RSS oruncode RSS

  • New Site & New Blog January 25, 2013
    All my blogging and game projects will be on our new site.  Come check it out. This is my last post here at oruncode.  Lazorun.com  Lazorun.com/blog
    oruncode
  • My Ludum Dare #23 Game April 25, 2012
    Made in just 48 hours, The Last Ride Home is a driving game that will test your reaction timing and your persistance as you try to drive through as many levels as possible. Here is a gameplay video. The game can be played in the Chrome Browser. You can play it now here is a link […]
    oruncode
  • March is my Month of JavaScript March 21, 2012
    March is turning out to be the month of JavaScript for me. Ever since I was asked to copy this game for a job interview a few weeks ago, I’ve been enjoying making anything I can think of with JS and HTML5 canvas. This was my first JS project. It’s an image matching game. I jacked […]
    oruncode

