Letting Others Play My Game

GunCore is my first game. Every mistake I’ve ever made in game development, I’ve made on GunCore. Despite my follies, through thick and thin, each month the game continues to grow and it’s finally able to be played outside of my Eclipse IDE.

I made a build a week ago and send it to 5 friends to give it a quick test.  Naturally, it was a disaster. The game is too early in development to be sent to someone without me beside them guiding them away from the incomplete sections.  As I answered my friends questions I realize that my prototype/feature priority needed to be changed. I need to focus more on patching the holes in my prototypes to allow the player to experience and critique the gameplay experience rather than the being lost in incomplete game states.

Since than I’ve been doing just that.  I’ve been cleaning up old test levels, rebalancing player and enemy attributes and temporarily removing all unnecessary, incomplete features.  My goal is to get an alpha build ready and start the play test phase of development.  GunCore is still far from alpha ready but at least it’s heading in the right direction.

0 Responses to “Letting Others Play My Game”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow the dev on Twitter.

About Me

Orun Irunmale
I'm Orun, an indie game developer. This is my development blog for all my software escapades.

RSS oruncode RSS

  • New Site & New Blog January 25, 2013
    All my blogging and game projects will be on our new site.  Come check it out. This is my last post here at oruncode.  Lazorun.com  Lazorun.com/blog
    oruncode
  • My Ludum Dare #23 Game April 25, 2012
    Made in just 48 hours, The Last Ride Home is a driving game that will test your reaction timing and your persistance as you try to drive through as many levels as possible. Here is a gameplay video. The game can be played in the Chrome Browser. You can play it now here is a link […]
    oruncode
  • March is my Month of JavaScript March 21, 2012
    March is turning out to be the month of JavaScript for me. Ever since I was asked to copy this game for a job interview a few weeks ago, I’ve been enjoying making anything I can think of with JS and HTML5 canvas. This was my first JS project. It’s an image matching game. I jacked […]
    oruncode

